Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Previews

Team news: Southend (A)

22 September 2018

Fleetwood Town head coach Joey Barton has named his 18-man squad for the match against Southend United at Roots Hall.

Barton has made three changes to the side that faced Accrington Stanley last weekend in the 1-1 draw at Highbury Stadium. 

Kyle Dempsey, Ched Evans and Gethin Jones come in to replace Conor McAleny, James Husband and Chris Long in the starting eleven. Dempsey came on as an early substitute in the last game, and has earned himself a start.

Paddy Madden started in the last match at Roots Hall, and scored on his debut after signing from Scunthorpe United in January 2018. Toumani Diagouraga also scored on his debut in Town's 2-1 victory.

Young Ryan Rydel has earned himself a call-up to the squad after his performance in midweek against AFC Fylde in the Lancashire FA Senior Cup. He will start on the bench along side new signing Ross Wallace. 

Town's Xl: Cairns (GK), Coyle, Holt, Eastham (c), Dempsey, Evans, Bolger, Madden, Jones, Hunter, Marney.

Subs: Crellin (GK), Grant, R. Wallace, Biggins, Sheron, Rydel, J. Wallace. 

Advertisement block