Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

11 youngsters awarded scholarships within club's academy

11 May 2018

Club News

11 youngsters awarded scholarships within club's academy

11 May 2018

Sponsored by

Fleetwood Town have signed up 11 young players who will become full-time scholars at the start of the 2018/19 season.

The youngsters will begin two-year scholarships and become part of the Cod Army’s under 18s side, based at the club's Poolfoot Farm training ground.

Four players have come through the club’s academy set-up, featuring in Simon Wiles’ under 16s team last season. The other seven players have been recruited from outside, after starting their careers at other clubs.

Academy Manager Ciaran Donnelly said: “We are delighted with the intake of new players for next season and we believe that the next two years could be a very prosperous time for the under 18s and the academy.

“It has been great to see the development of our own players – with three of the players being with the academy since its inception.

“Unfortunately we couldn’t sign everybody from our under 16s on scholarships, but we must thank everybody who has represented the club this season.”

Scott Macneil, Head of Academy Recruitment: “The club has been forward thinking in its support of recruiting young players.

“I went to the Victory Shield, which allowed us to get the three lads from Northern Ireland. We also have recruited players from higher category academies, with Poolfoot Farm a huge draw to attract the players to us.

“We’re also proud to offer four players from our Under 16s scholarships, something in which we as a club are keen to develop our own players through our academy structure.

“I’d personally like wish all the new scholars all the best at Fleetwood Town.”

The full list of players arriving at the club are: Scott Pengelly (Linfield), Carl Johnston (Linfield), Dillon Boyle (Ridgeway Rovers), Kai Steer (Birmingham City), Shayden Morris (Southend United), Jay Matete (Reading), Liam Goldsborough (Sunderland), Kian Makepeace (Academy), James Hill (Academy), Jamie Cooke (Academy), Anthony Williams (Academy).

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account