Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Voting for North West Football Awards set to close on Friday

15 October 2015

Town keeper Maxwell shortlisted for League One prize

Voting for the North West Football Awards is set to close on Friday 16th October 2015.

Town keeper Chris Maxwell is shortlisted for the League One player of the year prize, and the Cod Army supporters are encouraged to vote for their shot stopper.

Sergio Aguero’s five goals in a 6-1 win against Newcastle United was a timely reminder to City fans how important the Argentinean ace is to their team.

So, they may like to repay him by voting him the first non Liverpool winner of the MBNA Northwest Football Awards Premier League Player of the Year.

But Blues’ supporters and fans throughout the region only have until Friday (October 16) to ensure their club’s nominations come out on top when the North West football family meet up at the Point, Emirates Old Trafford for Awards’ night on November 16.

Aguero, only the fifth player in Premier League history to grab five goals in a single match but the fastest to achieve the feat in just 20 destructive minutes, faces tough competition for an accolade currently held by Raheem Sterling.

Manchester United keeper, David de Gea, Burnley counterpart, Tom Heaton, Phil Jagielka of Everton and Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho are also in the running.

City, Liverpool and Everton also have nominations in the Female Player of the Year category with Jill Scott, Fara Williams and Gabby George battling it out respectively.

The MBNA Northwest Football Awards are now in their fourth year and provide a focal point for fans to show their appreciation for their favourites stars.

There are 18 clubs outside the top flight featured in the Awards which include the coveted Mob Film Rising Star category.

To register your vote, visit the official website here

Advertisement block