Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Lane called up Northern Ireland Nations League fixtures

30 May 2022

Club News

Lane called up Northern Ireland Nations League fixtures

30 May 2022

Sponsored by

Fleetwood Town are delighted to announce Paddy Lane has been called up to the Northern Ireland senior squad once again ahead of their quadruple UEFA Nations League header.

Head Coach Ian Baraclough side, who are top seeds in League C Group 2, begin their third Nations League campaign with a home game against Greece on 2 June, with two more away trips to Cyprus (5 June), and Kosovo (9 June), before returning to Belfast to face the Cypriots on 12 June.

Lane – who made his senior debut for the national team against Hungary in March – has had a brilliant first season with the Cods, winning the League One Young Player of the Year award whilst amassing 39 appearances, scoring five and assisting a further eight in that time.

This run of form hasn’t gone unnoticed as he has been nominated into the Team of the Week multiple times by the league body, and The League Paper, and was even named in the best Under-21 EFL XI back in February.

20220530 - Paddy Lane NI call up 1.jpg

It’s great to see players from clubs all over the North West be represented in the national setup, with four in the 28-man squad. The Northern Ireland squad for the UEFA Nations League games in June is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Sheffield Wednesday), Trevor Carson (St Mirren), Luke Southwood (Reading), Josh Clarke (Glenavon).

Defenders: Daniel Ballard (Arsenal), Conor Bradley (Liverpool), Caolan Boyd-Munce (Middlesbrough), Ciaron Brown (Cardiff City), Jonny Evans (Leicester City), Trai Hume (Sunderland), Paddy Lane (Fleetwood Town), Paddy McNair (Middlesbrough), Brodie Spencer (Huddersfield Town).

Midfielders: Steven Davis and Charlie McCann (both Rangers), Shea Charles (Manchester City), Liam Donnelly (Motherwell), Alfie McCalmont (Leeds United), Ali McCann (Preston North End), Niall McGinn (Dundee), George Saville (Millwall), Jordan Thompson (Stoke City).

Forwards: Dion Charles (Bolton Wanderers), Kyle Lafferty (Kilmarnock), Shayne Lavery (Blackpool), Conor McMenamin (Glentoran), Conor Washington (Charlton Athletic), Gavin Whyte (Cardiff City).

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account