Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Town to face Barrow and Carlisle United in Papa John's Trophy group stage

20 June 2022

Sponsored by

Fleetwood Town can confirm we have been drawn in Group F in the Papa John's Trophy alongside Sky Bet League Two duo Barrow AFC and Carlisle United.

All eight Northern groups have been revealed by the EFL this afternoon, with Scott Brown’s side set to face two Sky Bet League Two teams and a yet-to-be-announced Premier League Under-21s side, which will be announced on Thursday.

Town will play two of the three group stage fixtures at Highbury Stadium, with one of those being against the Premier League side and another being with Barrow or Carlisle, and the last game will be away from home.

The group stage fixtures will also be confirmed on that date.

Northern groups:

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Harrogate Town Bolton Wanderers Port Vale Accrington Stanley
Hartlepool United Crewe Alexandra Shrewsbury Town Rochdale
Morecambe Tranmere Rovers Stockport County Salford City
Category 1 Club Category 1 Club Category 1 Club Category 1 Club
Group E Group F Group G Group H
Barnsley Derby County Barrow AFC Bradford City
Doncaster Rovers Grimsby Town Carlisle United Burton Albion
Lincoln City Mansfield Town Fleetwood Town Sheffield Wednesday
Category 1 Club Category 1 Club Category 1 Club Category 1 Club

Category 1 clubs: Everton, Leeds United, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Advertisement block