Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Nine youngsters join club's academy on full-time scholarships

1 July 2019


Nine youngsters join club's academy on full-time scholarships

1 July 2019

Sponsored by

Fleetwood Town have signed up nine young players who will become full-time scholars, and will start their pre-season on Monday 1st July 2019.

The youngsters will begin two-year scholarships and become part of the Cod Army’s Under 18s side, based at the club's Poolfoot Farm training ground.

Four players have come through the club’s academy set-up, with the other five players being recruited from outside, after starting their careers at other clubs.

Academy Manager Ciaran Donnelly said: “We are delighted with the intake of new players for next season and we believe that the next two years could be a very prosperous time for the Under 18s and the academy.

“It has been a memorable 12 months for us as we've seen many of our scholars feature for the first team in a variety of cup competitions. James Hill made his debut against Leicester City at the King Power Stadium, and then made his league debut against Peterborough - which is a huge moment for us and James himself.

"Dylan Boyle, Barry Baggley and Ryan Rydel have all made an appearance this season, and with this it will show our players that there is a clear pathway into the first team if you apply yourself right on the pitch, as well as off.

The club's Chairman Andy Pilley has congratulated the players, and knows the academy players who come through are the future of the football club: “Last season we've seen many of our Under 18s get opportunities in the first team, and that is a fantastic sight to see at the football club.

“The work that the Academy do on a day to day basis is unbelievable, and I would like to thank all of the staff for their hard work since we revamped the academy three years ago."

The full list of the new scholars are (top left to right): Coach Matty Blinkhorn, Akeil Raffie, Sam Bird, Johnathon Borwick, Enoch Takpe, Sam Barratt, Coach Simon Wiles, (bottom): Shaun Sithole, Danny Edwards, Cian Hayes, Billy Batch

We wish all of our new scholars all the best for the upcoming season! 

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account