Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Team news: Leicester City (A)

28 August 2018

Fleetwood Town head coach Joey Barton has named his side for the Carabao Cup second round tie against Leicester City.

The Cod Army made history in this competition when they progressed in the first round away at Sky Bet League Two side Crewe Alexandra. After Jason Holt equalised five minutes after being introduced at half-time, the match went to penalties. Town came away 4-3 winners with Alex Cairns pulling off a fantastic save to deny Perry Ng scoring his spot kick.

The Foxes entered the competition at the second round stage, and it could be a trophy that the manager Claude Puel and the club target for silverware.

Barton has made 11 changes from the side at the weekend, with Paul Jones making his Town debut tonight.

Here are the two teams:

Town XI: P. Jones (GK), Spurr, Dempsey, McAleny, Grant ©, Bolger, Maguire, Long, G. Jones, Biggins, Sheron.

Subs: Cairns (GK), Holt, Eastham, Burns, Madden, Hill, Wallace

Leicester XI: Ward (GK), Morgan ©, Evans, Iheanacho, Albrighton, Amartey, Okazaki, Iborra, Silva, Fuchs, Ghezzal.

Subs: Gray, J. Madden, Benkovic, Jakupovic, Mendy, Diabate, Knight.

Advertisement block