Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Former Players

Successful October meeting for Former Players Association

5 October 2017

The now officially named Fleetwood Town Former Players Association welcomed 17 attendees to Poolfoot Training Complex on Thursday for a third informal gathering.

Some former players who had attended the previous meetings were unable to attend this time but there were half a dozen ‘new boys’ who were welcomed into the fold. Players took great pleasure in reminiscing with each other, prompted with the help of photographs and programmes from the club archive.

See below thoughts of former player Fred Willder...

Tony Collier, Secretary of the Association, commented: “It was great to see both new faces and those who had also attended previous gatherings. When the former players get together, the comradery is most apparent and it is fantastic to see them all smiling and chatting. Whilst the Association is still in its relatively early stages we have been highly encouraged by the response which have received so far. We remain very keen to attract other former Fleetwood players to our gatherings. We have numerous plans for the future but our first aim is have a secure administrative structure in place.”

Vice Chairman, Phil Brown added: “We enjoyed another excellent gathering on Thursday of our former players at Poolfoot. They watched first team training and, as always, shared memories and photographs of their playing days. The club greatly values its relationship with everybody who has worn the club’s colours and it’s fantastic to see the Former Players Association going from strength to strength.”

The next planned informal gathering will take place at Poolfoot on Thursday 2nd November at 10am. Further details may be obtained from the Association’s Chairman, Stuart Murdoch, by email or phone 07921 934775.

The former players in the photograph above are:  (Back Row) – (L to R) Alan Fish, Alan Tinsley, Bobby Cuthbertson, Malcolm Beech, Brian Newman, Stuart Murdoch. (Middle Row) – (L to R) Frank Bowker, Ron Kennedy, Tommy Willacy, Reg Smallbone, Tom Scott and Malcolm Denning (standing). (Front Row) – (L – R) Fred Willder, Andy Haddock, Tony Eaves, Don Gair, Malcolm Clegg. 

Advertisement block