Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Vote for Chris Maxwell as League One player of the year

13 October 2015

Shot stopper was a key player for Town last year

Fleetwood Town goalkeeper Chris Maxwell has been named on the shortlist for League One’s player of the year at the North West Football Awards.

The Welshman kept a total of 14 clean sheets for the Cod Army in their debut campaign in the third tier.

He was an instrumental figure for FTFC and featured regularly between the sticks, while also being named in Wales’ provisional squads for their EURO 2016 qualifying games.

In the Premier League, Philippe Coutinho aims to uphold a proud Liverpool tradition with voting now open for the 2015 MBNA Northwest Football Awards.

The 23-year-old Brazilian star is one of five Premier League Player of the Year nominations for the 2014-15 campaign.

A winning wonder goal on the opening day of the campaign at Stoke City showed why Coutinho is so highly prized at Anfield.

Now he needs the backing of Liverpool fans to add his name to the MBNA Northwest Football Awards Premier League Player of the Year roll of honour including ex and current Reds: Jamie Carragher, Martin Skrtel and Raheem Sterling.

But Coutinho faces stiff competition to lift the trophy at this year’s glitzy, black tie Awards ceremony at the Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, 16th November.

England defender Phil Jagielka, Mancunian nominees, David de Gea and Sergio Aguero plus Burnley’s Tom Heaton complete the shortlist.

Sterling, still only 20 and whose £49 million move to Manchester City is one of the stories of the year so far, could complete a MBNA NWFA double as he’s in contention in the Mob Sport ‘Rising Star’ category.

Opposing him are new Blues team mate, Jose Angel Tasende-better known to City fans as Angelino-United’s Congolese born defender, Axel Tuanzebe and Everton’s Brendan Galloway.

Now in their fourth year, the MBNA Northwest Football Awards have grown in popularity due to their inclusive approach to the game in our region.

Toni Duggan (then at Everton) and Steph Houghton of Manchester City collected the women’s player of the year trophy in 2013 and 2014. City’s Jill Scott tackles Fara Williams of Liverpool and Everton’s Gabby George for 2015 honours.

In addition, there is an inaugural women’s Rising Star award which pits England Under 19 international George against Maz Pacheco of Liverpool and Manchester City’s Nikita Parris.

In total 23 clubs have players nominated in a voting process far more enjoyable than any General Election!

Liverpool striker Danny Ings is the current Championship player of the year for his exploits in shooting Burnley into the Premier League. Will former East Lancashire rival, Markus Olsson, take the trophy back to Blackburn Rovers?

Bolton midfielder Jay Spearing is a former winner and this time Wanderers have high hopes for Zach Clough in the Championship Mob Sport Rising Star category.

The Tameside born prospect, nicknamed ‘Messi’ by his team mates, celebrated his senior debut with an FA Cup winner over Wigan and then added five further goals in nine more appearances before a dislocated collar bone ended his campaign.

In League One, could it be a Preston double for Paul Huntington in succession to 2013/14 winner, Joe Garner? The Cumbrian born centre half was a Deepdale rock as North End clinched promotion to the Championship.

Bury have replaced their Lancashire rivals in England’s third tier after a nail-biting end of season promotion success. So, the Shakers will hope defender Nathan Cameron and Danny Rose can give them more success in the League Two nominations.

In the Conference, Chester’s Salford born favourite, Ben Heneghan, holds the distinction this year of being the only player nominated for Player and Rising Star awards.

Voting for all Player of the Year and Mob Sport Rising Star categories is open until Friday 16th October. Fans can cast their votes here

Advertisement block